Bring It

It feels SO GOOD to jump on here and share that all is still good!! In fact, it’s better than good – HTBM is definitely incubating and feeling it. Week 6 and, right on schedule, the ‘morning sickness’ is in full effect. No vomiting, but definitely dizziness/lightheadedness/nausea. Oh, and exhaustion too. And neither of us could be more thrilled with her feeling bad. I sorta feel crummy about it – I feign concern and pity, but she can see straight through to my joy over her pukey feeling. But she easily shares that joy.

It’s definitely a change from last time when she felt nothing. She is one who is very in tune with her body, so intuitively, we know she should feel it. And she’s felt it all along. She feels pregnant. She is pregnant.

The 6 week ultrasound (6w 4d according to a due date calculator) is on Friday. Total craziness. We may see our baby’s heartbeat on Friday, which is pretty much unbelievable. It would be the greatest moment of my life. To not see it on Friday or to find out there is some problem….well, it would be something that I’m not sure we could handle. I guess I’m sure we would find a way to move on, but it would be completely and utterly awful.

But here’s the thing: I’m not worried about it. I mean, sure, there are times like yesterday, when I felt like I didn’t slow down as much as I should have over a bump in the road, and I sat and fretted for a couple hours. But it melted away, and I knew I was being silly. I mean, she’s pregnant. And there’s absolutely, positively, no denying that.

I never thought I’d think this, but her feeling sick is pretty much awesome. It brings me great joy, and I definitely don’t mind taking care of her and cooking her dinner and stuff. I also won’t mind over the next several weeks and months if she pukes in my car, farts at church, or pees her pants at the grocery store. Those things will also be pretty much awesome.

This is pregnancy. We say ‘bring it on.’ Bring on the heartbeat.

4 responses to “Bring It

  1. Yaaayyy! So so so happy for you both! Looking forward to sharing your excitement with the many milestones that I hope you get to revel in over the course of the next few months. Congratulations Dad! 🙂

  2. “I also won’t mind over the next several weeks and months if she pukes in my car, farts at church, or pees her pants at the grocery store.” – Can’t think of anything better than a fully supportive husband! 🙂 Congrats!

  3. Such truly awesome news that she’s feeling so rubbish!! My hubby got excited at seeing me sick too. All the best for the scan guys!

Leave a Reply

